A One-Man-Band's DIY Production Journal.

Broke-Ass

Last night, I got a good amount done for King Friday. I re-recorded a few parts to “It’s Not Karma”: opening guitars and the surf/western type melody in the chorus. Finalized for mastering. But the bigger accomplishment is the completed ‘working’ instrumental to a new piece titled “Broke-Ass”. Song meaning is pretty self-explanatory.

It’s one of those pieces that was envisioned one way, but turned into something completely different once laid down. To give you an idea about how the song sounds, it’s a steady, rolling beat (Think: “Pork and Beans” by Weezer) and the chorus gets heavy and is something you can jump around to. Lyrics and vocals will be less emo for this one.

I started off with my weakest area: bass guitar. I need more songs that focus on bass. Anyways, things were fine after I laid down drums and a couple of guitars… then came trying to rearrange parts for verse 2. The first verse was carried by the bass melody with rhythm guitar lightly mimicking it… With the second, I just played the rhythm a little heavier. Meh. I tried rhythm again, this time a little more harsh and scratchy. Played around with this “Super Flange” plug-in: weird. Totally weird. I like it. You know what would sound cool over this? A rap. Not me though.

I immediately texted E.dot Fresco of The Backpackers and said he’s gotta get on this. It’s not a typical beat to spit over, but I know he’ll pull it off nicely. We’ll get together Thursday night and put something together. On top of that, I’m adding a ‘call and response’ after the bridge… featuring some hoochie-mama vocals shouting “You’re a broke-ass!” and some crowd shouting “Hey! Hey!” Any females out there care to contribute?

This should be one of the lighter tracks on this record.

Leave a Reply

